• News,  Publishing

    THE MEMORY COLLECTORS is on bookshelves now

    I am so happy to announce that THE MEMORY COLLECTORS is now out in the world!! Yes, this announcement IS a week late!

    The truth is that my book launch did not go as planned. 

    My family and I are currently recovering from COVID-19. We are okay!! We had mild cases and are recovering well. But I tested positive a week and a half before publication day, and spent every day leading up to March 16th in bed, exhausted and stressed. I know our story isn’t unique, but it was still a shock, after a year of being so careful and following all of the public health guidelines, to find ourselves in this situation. Shocking and scary, and the timing (not that there’s a good time to get COVID-19) was especially bad.

    On the big day, it was all I could do to post a quick, bleary-eyed Instagram photo and share some reviews. After that, I saved up every bit of energy I had in me for the evening launch event.

    The event, hosted by Mysterious Galaxy Books went SURPRISINGLY well, in large part thanks to my excellent friend and conversation partner, Bryan Camp, author of THE CITY OF LOST FORTUNES and GATHER THE FORTUNES. I did a short reading and we had a good time talking about the book and the writing process in general. You can view a recording of the event here. And you can still receive a custom signed bookplate if you order a copy of THE MEMORY COLLECTORS from Mysterious Galaxy Books.

    The reception to the book so far has been incredible. Here are some of the best-of lists that have included THE MEMORY COLLECTORS over the last couple of weeks:

    GoodReads: 6 Great Books Hitting Shelves This Week

    POPSUGAR: Best New Books of March 2021

    Bustle: Most Anticipated Books of Spring 2021

    BiblioLifestyle: Most Anticipated Spring 2021 Literary Fiction Books

    Off the Shelf: Our 16 Most Anticipated New Reads of March

    LifeSavvy: Mark Your Calendars for These 13 Exciting New Books in March

    It’s also been wonderful to see the many messages and photos from friends and family showing me their copies that have arrived in the mail, or pictures of the book on shelves at their local bookstores. I hope to be able to see THE MEMORY COLLECTORS out in the wild myself soon! Please keep those photos coming, and if you have read and enjoyed the book, consider leaving a rating and/or review. Thank you all for the support!

  • News,  Publishing

    The Memory Collectors – Raves and Reviews

    Reviews of The Memory Collectors are starting to come in and it’s both exciting and terrifying. I’m especially delighted to share these recent endorsements from several wonderful authors. It means a lot to me that each of them took the time to read my book, and to provide such glowing praise. One thing I love about all of these quotes is that they give an additional sense of some of the dark and tangled themes I tackle in the book, so if you’re curious to learn more about it, do have a look:

    “In The Memory Collectors, Neville creates a richly imagined world that seamlessly merges the magical with the everyday. Her characters will feel very real to anyone who has sensed the haunting power in objects and places that awaken deep emotions from their past. This inventive debut is a hopeful tale about the possibility of recovery after childhood trauma, and about learning how to trust and forgive—especially oneself. I guarantee you will never feel the same about that box of keepsakes stored in your attic after you read this book.”

    – Glendy Vanderah, Wall Street Journal bestselling author of Where the Forest Meets the Stars

    “An old, horrifying crime; objects imprinted with emotions; two women hiding from their dark pasts—The Memory Collectors is thought-provoking and suspenseful, full of haunting secrets, twists, and turns. Kim Neville’s beautifully-written debut lays bare the immense power of memories and how they can both hurt us . . . and heal us.”

    – Heather Webber, USA Today bestselling author of Midnight at the Blackbird Café and South of the Buttonwood Tree

    “In this atmospheric and beautifully written novel, Neville weaves for us a world in which ordinary objects retain the imprint of strong emotions and influence the moods and actions of the people they touch. By turns heartbreaking, terrifying, and beautiful, The Memory Collectors is ultimately a triumphant tale of redemption and forgiveness.”

    – Kerry Anne King, bestselling author of Everything You Are and Whisper Me This

    “An unforgettable parable about empathy, memory, and healing that builds to a heart-pulsing crescendo. Not only is The Memory Collectors an exquisite exploration of the ways family secrets bind us to the past, it’s also one of the most magical novels I’ve read in a long time. An extraordinary debut.”

    – Kris Waldherr, author of The Lost History of Dreams

  • News

    Instagram Giveaway Alert


    UPDATE: Winners have been selected, thanks to everyone who participated!

    I’m giving away two advance copies of my debut novel, THE MEMORY COLLECTORS!

    An atmospheric and enchanting literary debut, perfect for fans of Celeste Ng and Alice Hoffman, about two women haunted by buried secrets and bound by a shared fantastical gift.

    TO ENTER: Follow me on Instagram and tag a friend in the comments. Contest ends midnight on Wednesday, October 21. I’ll pick a pair of friends at random to “buddy read” the book together.

    US and Canada only. And stay tuned for more chances to win free advance copies of my book, coming soon!